Excellence Award

The Melvyn H. Schreiber Award for Excellence in Radiology

2014 Recipient


014 marks the inaugural year for this award which celebrates Dr. Schreiber’s 58 years of service to the UTMB department of radiology. Beginning as a bright young academician under the guidance of former chairman, Dr. Robert Cooley, Dr. Schreiber created a legacy by devoting his life to teaching and scholarship. He led the department as chairman for 15 years and continues as an active faculty member 23 years later. The recipient of this cash prize, selected by a radiology faculty committee, represents Dr. Schreiber’s goal to “see his students excel, especially when they excel him” and honors that graduating medical student showing the greatest interest and achievement in clinical and investigative imaging.


Former medical student Dr. Robert Jackson (left) is presented the first “Melvyn H. Schreiber Award for Excellence in Radiology” by Radiology Chairman Dr. Eric M. Walser in honor of Dr. Melvyn H. Schreiber’s (right) dedication to teaching.


Former medical student Dr. Robert Jackson with Dr. Melvyn H. Schreiber.